Some Thoughts

I usually blog about family happenings, but I had some thoughts I wanted to share.

Today was the 20th anniversary celebration Sunday of the missions arm of our church, the Church of the Apostles. The mission is Leading the Way. The organization really has an amazing history and is doing much to reach the unreachable nations with the gospel.

Marriage and motherhood have become much of the focus of my life in the last few (almost 5) years. This is a blessing which I am thankful for. However, I have let my heart for missions and those unreached with the gospel fall to the side. I struggle with how to be a great mom and wife as well as a Christian, a good friend to others, etc. Over and over the verse, “seek first the kingdom of God and all this shall be added unto you” comes to mind. Well… am I doing that? Am I seeking the kingdom of God or the kingdom of self? Am I seeking God first and then seeking to be a good ___________ (fill in the blank)? He says his yoke is easy and his burden is light… so that’s what I should be seeking, and the rest will follow.

I desire so much for my kids to be global Christians… aware of God’s work around the world and not just here. We cannot ignore the need for the gospel here or on the other side of the globe. There is much persecution of Christians happening around the world as well as other terrible things occurring. However, the gospel is being heard and tons of people are coming to Christ. Two sites that might be of interest to you (they are to me) that will keep you informed of what is happening across the globe are Leading the Way and Voice of the Martyrs. I felt compelled to share this with you. You may not be called to the mission field, but certainly we can pray for the nations.

Leave a Reply

