Summer Travels Part 3… Family Traditions

The kids and I headed up to Atlanta again this week. There was a homeschool expo going on that I wanted to go to. I needed to get a little motivation to tackle this whole homeschool business. I am glad I went. I was able to get a little more of a vision for how things are going to go with education and the Dugdales! I got the first- grade curriculum from My Father’s World. I have heard good things about this company and it is very affordable. Only God knows how things will pan out, but for now… this is the plan.

Some of the family headed to Benihana to celebrate the summer birthdays in our family. My mom reminded me that this is the 24th year in a row that we have been to Benihana for a birthday dinner. It all started when my oldest brother was 13 (do the math… he’s 37 now)! I didn’t think we were going to go this year… but come on.. 24 years… that’s a hard tradition to break.

It was so fun to see the kids getting excited about the chef hats, chopsticks and food being prepared on the table. Quite honestly, our chef wasn’t that good…he kept dropping things. But the kids thought he was amazing. We have outgrown the table. Not everyone was able to make it this year… if they had, I don’t think we could have all fit! In 2009, we added 3 babies to the family… who knows what things will looks like in the years to come!

Apparently, Selah likes rice… and corn… and zucchini… This girl sat and ate the whole time we were there!

Cousins! I tried 3 or 4 times to take this picture… this was the best shot.


My beautiful little munchkin… but come on… doesn’t that face just scream “Mischief!”

“Mom… are these chopsticks or drumsticks?” “Chopsticks… don’t bang on anything with them.” “Can’t I just bang the air?”

The chopsticks were taken away before the food even came. Don’t worry, I relented when the server brought kid friendly ones and let the kids have the experience of eating with chopsticks.

Leave a Reply

