Money Saving Monday- Purposeful Spending

I went to Michael’s today to look for a very specific craft item that I wanted. When they didn’t have it, I still felt compelled to buy something. I started wandering, somewhat aimlessly, through the yarn section. I put a few skeins of yarn in the cart. I didn’t have a specific project in mind for them and chances are, they would have sat in my big box of yarn for a few months. By the time we got to the check out line, I realized that I was being very frivolous and about to spend money unnecessarily. I put the yarn back and left.

We live in a very consumer driven, flashy, frivolous society. What would life in America look like if we just spent money on those things we actually needed? What if we were purposeful in our spending?

Here are some examples of what I mean:
– write lists and stick to them in the grocery store.
– clean out the fridge and pantry regularly so you are aware of what you actually need and don’t over buy
– have fewer outfits and shoes in your closets…wear outfits more than once or twice
– say no to your kids in the dollar section at target (I need to work on this)
– ask yourself, “do I really need _______?”

Are you purposeful and thoughtful when you spend? Sometimes I wish I was making more glamorous purchases than toilet paper and toothpaste… But those items are needs in our home and bought with purpose.

Leave a Reply

