I Believe in Marriage

Brian came home from the clinic tonight and was debriefing a little with me about one of his sessions. I have to take a moment here to say that Brian is SO professional with his clients. One thing that I have struggled with is that he has to keep his sessions confidential. We always share our days with each other… ups and downs, struggles, interesting events, etc. It has been hard for me to be okay with not knowing all the details of Brian’s day. With that said, he really didn’t debrief many details of his session tonight. All he told me was that he was working with a couple who were struggling with their marriage. At one point he said, “I believe in marriage.”

You know what… me too. I believe that marriage by God’s design is good and right. I believe that marriage was not meant to be easy or all smiles all the time, but it was designed to draw us that much closer to the Lord. I could go on to tell you all the verses about marriage…how God designed marriage to be between one man and one woman… how men are the leaders and women are to submit (God’s words) to their husbands… I could tell you all that, but instead, I’ll just share that Brian and I celebrated our 7th anniversary this past Monday.

A lot of people don’t make it seven years… a lot of people make it to seven and all of the sudden feel the need to bail. Not us… we are committed and in this for the long haul. I am confident our marriage grows stronger each year.

We had great plans to go out to eat and celebrate while some friends kept the kids for us… but… much to my dismay, I woke up with the stomach bug on Sunday morning… so… plans were canceled and I stayed in bed all day.

The next day, our actual anniversary, Brian was in class all day and had clinic at night. But, being the super star that he is… he surprised me with flowers at lunch…

And for dessert… Cheesecake… he even did the fancy chocolate sauce!

I so love my husband. His love language is quality time. He is not so much worried about glit and glamor as just being together, investing in our relationship. My love language?… cheesecake! So… our anniversary was a win, win. We spent some quiet, quality time over some yummy cheesecake!

Leave a Reply

