Thankful

I so wanted to write this post yesterday so I could title it Thankful Thursday… but I was busy with my new obsession of sewing and just didn’t get to the computer.

I am thankful today… my cup is overflowing and I am overwhelmingly thankful. I don’t think it’s a surprise to most of you when I say that I have struggled since we have been in Florida. I struggled with making the move down here. I have struggled to adjust to life with three children. I have struggled to understand what God is doing in our lives. Feel free to read my Confessions of a Seminary Wife posts on my other blog to understand a little more about my experiences.

Anyway… through all these struggles, I have often felt very alone and forgotten. Because we have moved several times since we’ve been married, I have felt at times that our friendships aren’t deep and people aren’t really that concerned about whether or not we stay or go. They have their lives with or without the Dugdales. When I step aside from my own pitiful thoughts I realize how wrong I am. We have been blessed beyond measure by the friendships we have formed over the last few years. We have received so much encouragement for our marriage, in our parenting and in life in general. We have received financial and prayer support as we’ve been in seminary. We’ve received many tangible as well as intangible gifts. I am thankful for the friendships we have formed.

Have you ever read, The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman? He writes about how we all receive and give love in different ways. They can basically be broken down into five different categories: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, Gifts and Physical Touch. I encourage you to read the book. I have realized that one of my love languages is Gifts. I love to give gifts and I love to receive them. It doesn’t have to be big or extravagant…. just a token of affection (given or received) fills my heart. Over the past couple of weeks, I have received some very nice, very unexpected gifts. I didn’t ask for them… I certainly don’t deserve them… but I will most definitely receive them. Not only have these gifts spoken my language… they’ve also served to remind me that I am not alone… not forgotten…

Leave a Reply

