Celebrating Elijah

  Tomorrow Elijah will turn six years old. I always knew I wanted to have kids, but I never really knew what all was involved. We couldn’t have asked for a better introduction into parenthood. So much has happened in our lives since Elijah was born… it seems like forever ago that he was this small…

 And now… we have this wiggly, rambunctious, smart, day-dreamy, dinosaur loving, ocean animal studying, climbing on everything little guy…

We are so thankful for Elijah. He keeps us on his toes with his quick wit. Because of Elijah, I know more about ocean animals, planets and dinosaurs than I ever wanted to know. He challenges us with his deep questions and his heart for the things of the Lord. He loves to laugh and to make us laugh. He adores his sisters (most of the the time) and is such a good big brother to them. It has been such a joy to watch this little guy grow.
Tonight, as I was putting him to bed, I told him that tonight was his last night as a five year old. I told him that he would never be five again. I asked him how he felt about that and he said, “this is just crazy!… you’re going to have to learn to say that I’m your favorite six year old!” And he will be… for the next year… my most favorite six year old.

Leave a Reply

