Impropmtu Tea Party

Confession: I am not girly… I know that must be a shocker to everyone who knows me. I always thought I would have all boys. When Abigail was a baby, I didn’t believe the ultrasound that said she was a girl. I didn’t take tags off of clothes. I thought surely there was a mistake and she was a boy. After I got over the shock of having one girl, Selah came along and then Tybi. Apparently God wants me to be a mom to girls… which is fine… except that I have no idea what to do with them.

When I was a little girl, I rejected dresses, hair bows and all things girly. Abigail and Selah refuse to wear pants… they only want dresses and skirts!

Brian took Elijah hiking this past weekend. I needed to clean the house, but I knew that I was going to have the girls home with me and that  they would want to do something… especially Abigail who treasures time with me and always asks if we can do something girly.

I wish I could say that I thought of the idea of a tea party all on my own, but I didn’t… Brian planted the idea in my head and Abigail is really the one who planned and executed. I was just there to bake cookies and make fairy tea (limeade).

The girly girls had fun… they washed their dishes, set the table, dressed in their fairy fineness and had a great time.

Incidentally, after the tea party was over, the girls headed out to ride bikes (in their princess dresses).

Leave a Reply

